Sweet Heart Series: Day 3

Over the past several months, in reading all of the posts written by amazingly courageous people sharing their stories, I have learned that even though we have all gone through different types of situations, in the end what our problems boil down to is quite the same.  For example, all abusive relationships are not identical.  There is physical, emotional, spiritual, psychological and sexual abuse (to name only a few).  Also, even though the bulk of the stories are written by women, there are men also being abused – by their wives, significant others, etc., yet still abuse is mainly recognized as a women’s problem.

Similarly, there is infidelity in marriage which also works both ways, not to mention just utter lack of communication, plus a slew of other issues that can cause the demise of a relationship.  No matter what the problem, when the breakdown of a relationship that you thought would last occurs and the victim of it’s circumstance happens to be us, we wonder…why me?  What did I do wrong? How could I have stopped this from happening?  When we finally come to grips with the reality of the situation we start to wonder…

This one was posted by:  Lessons From the End of a Marriage

“Will I ever trust again?” I asked, turning towards my dad in the aftermath of the day the marriage died.

My voice trembled along with the rest of my body, a pleading tone hoping for a positive response.

His eyes teared, he pulled me in for a hug. “I don’t know but I sure hope so.”

It wasn’t the response I wanted, but it was honest. And honest was what I needed.

Over the next weeks and months, I asked that question of my mom, my family, my friends, my journal.

And every response was the same.

“I don’t know.”

Continue reading here… Will I Ever Trust Again?

2 thoughts on “Sweet Heart Series: Day 3

Leave a Reply

