Wildflower

“When you’re happy, you enjoy the music.  But when you’re sad, you understand the lyrics.” – Frank Ocean

This quote circulates on social media quite often, and each time I see it I like, share, and retweet.  There is something about it that makes me feel, I don’t know…justified?  That’s definitely the wrong word.  All I know is that when I first read these words I thought YESSS this is SO true.  I’ve known as much for a long time.

I guess it resonated with me because over the years, I’ve been sad more than I’ve been happy and music has always been one of my escapes.  I’d put on my walkman, cd player or iPod and tune out real life.  When alone, I’ll listen to the music and love every rhythmic sound which will usually be anything with an upbeat tempo.  And on those not so alone days, I’ll put on my headphones and get lost in every single lyric of the slow songs that have some meaning and depth.

Being a child of the 70’s, and being lucky enough to have had young parents who also enjoyed music, I had the opportunity to listen to quite an assortment.  My father had an extensive album collection and there was always music playing.  So much variety in general plus the musical changes over the decades and then add to it the music my own kids listen to, I’d say my tastes vary in extremes.  My iPod holds everything from Dean Martin to Run DMC to Frankie Valli to Celia Cruz to the Spice Girls, NSync and anything Motown.  Needless to say…there’s diversity, and I enjoy all of it.

Every song sparks a specific memory or takes me to a certain place in time, which can range from extreme happiness or bring me to tears, and I’m sure the same holds true for mostly everyone else on the planet who listens to music.  I guess that’s the entire point – and the same song can mean something entirely different for each person.

This song, Wildflower by Skylark, happened to pop up on my iPod the other day.  I’ve heard it many times before and love it which is why it’s part of my playlist.  The last time I heard it, I remember thinking…wow, this song really fits [my] story.  This time around, I really took a listen to the lyrics – not because I was feeling melancholy or anything of that sort.  There’s just something about the melody that calls your attention to the words.

The first and last verses are particularly meaningful to me.  The first one is pretty much self explanatory and can bring on a heaviness alone just in the breakdown of the words.  It’s that last verse that hits home.  “And when you walk into her eyes, you won’t believe the way she’s always paying for a debt she never owes…”  In the beginning of this godforsaken journey, there was a very long time when I believed I deserved it and that I was being punished for making the decisions that I did…thus, paying for a debt I never owed.  Luckily, since blogging, I’ve worked through that and know now that none of this was deserved or my fault.

Geez, I didn’t mean to get heavy with this post.  I hope you can still sit back and enjoy the song.  It really is beautiful.  No matter the genre or our personal favorites, music is indeed the universal language.

She’s faced the hardest times you could imagine
And many times her eyes fought back the tears
And when her youthful world was about to fall in
Each time her slender shoulders bore the weight of all her fears
And a sorrow no one hears still rings in midnight silence, in her ears

Let her cry, for she’s a lady
Let her dream, for she’s a child
Let the rain fall down upon her
She’s a free and gentle flower, growing wild

And if by chance I should hold her
Let me hold her for a time
But if allowed just one possession
I would pick her from the garden, to be mine

Be careful how you touch her, for she’ll awaken
And sleep’s the only freedom that she knows
And when you walk into her eyes, you won’t believe
The way she’s always paying for a debt she never owes
And a silent wind still blows that only she can hear and so she goes

Let her cry, for she’s a lady
Let her dream, for she’s a child
Let the rain fall down upon her
She’s a free and gentle flower, growing wild

2 thoughts on “Wildflower

Leave a Reply

